English | Bangla
Change of politicians’ attitude stressed for railway development, Published By The Daily Newage


Change of politicians’ attitude stressed for railway development


Published : Wednesday, APril 17 2013

The Daily Newage:

Staff CorrespondentNational Human Rights Commission chairman Mizanur Rahman on Tuesday said politicians should improve their attitudes and activities significantly for developing the railway sector. 

‘If they don’t change the way they are acting now, development of the railways will never be achieved,’ he told an opinion-sharing meeting at the city’s CIRDAP auditorium.
Save the Environment Movement and the Work for Better Bangladesh Trust organised jointly the session styled ‘Doings for railway’s long-term development: perspective of railway factories’.
The NHRC chairman said the recent incidents of ransacking and vandalism of the Bangladesh Railway property proved politicians did not care for the railway sector.  
Due to the recent spate of violence, railway is no more a cost effective, environment friendly, and safe transport system in Bangladesh, Mizanur observed.
Bangladesh Law Commission chairman M Shah Alam said the government should emphasise eradication of corruption in railway sector. 
Bangladesh Institute of Planners general secretary Khandakar M Ansar Hossain said lack of political goodwill, budget allocation, and immediate action to address different railway problems had been gradually eroding this sector’s importance. 
Bangladesh Institute of Labour Studies finance secretary Kabir Hossain said the government should recruit manpower for the railways immediately, ensuring transparency in the appointment process.  
WBBT development officer Atiqur Rahman presented the keynote paper at the session, in which he said the Saidpur Rail Factory was reeling under a number of problems, including lack of manpower, raw materials, modern equipment, and adequate budget allocation. 
The SEM and the WBBT prepared the keynote paper jointly, after visiting the factory on March 13.    
Among others, SEM secretary Abdus Sobhan and member Sirajul Islam, WBBT director Syed Mahbubul Alam, Railway Sramik Union president Dewan Mohammad Ali, Nagorik Odhikar Sangrakkhan Parishad president Hafizur Rahman, Bangladesh Railway Sramik Jote president Dijendra Nath Singha, Bangladesh Railway Sramik League general secretary Rejwanur Rahman Khan, Bangladesh Paribesh Andolan member MA Hye, and Railway Running Staff and Workers-Employees’ Association president Mohammad Mujibur Rahman also took part in the session.